bubbling cauldron pixel artRougelian Shop Staff Notes / Baka Neko Sketch Blog

[2023.02.20] Doodles and doodles

icon of Tsumugi from Variable Barricade

Hullo hullo. I have more anime vampire photo dumping and some actual art for this sketch blog this time. To no one’s surprise, I went and got the remaining two installments of the Visual Prison blu-rays.

Volume 4 probably has the least interesting bonus booklet. All the character design sheets are completed by vol 3, and so it just has some keyframe/layout pencils for selected character shots - nothing too special. (The character sketches and setting booklet included in vol 1 is definitely the best for full outfit turnarounds and expression sheets.)

A photograph of two anime blu-ray boxes for Visual Prison
Above: Visual Prison 3 & 4.

A photograph three bonus character cards included as limited extras.
Above: Ange, Robin, and Saga polaroid-style cards from volume 3.
The wing design for Ange’s sig is cute, but what the heck is going on with those letters???

A photograph two bonus character cards included as limited extras.
Above: Dimitri and Hyde polaroid-style cards from volume 4.
Look at those blues and purples. <3

Speaking of blues/purples - here are my DIY nails from the past week. Vague dark sparkly glitter until SURPRISE - mismatched colors when they catch the light. Colors are “You Fool. No Man Can Kill Me” (purple/blue), “You are a Warlock Magnet” (gold/green duochrome?), and “The Duke” (purple-ish wine).

Two photographs of dark glittery nail art under different lighting conditions.

Here are some sketch studies(??) of just trying to remember how to draw again. I’m testing Procreate brushes from Dani Diez’s Toolbox. So far, it has nice a brush/pressure feel, but I’m horribly out of practice. I’m just making Beth wear my outfits dkslfj.

A set of 3 sketches of Beth in different outfits.

For Colors this month, one of the games includes adding a surprising/shocking element for trade offers/replies. I decided to do bespoke doodles of the characters I have as my DW icons for mine. The old tumblr doodle ask/rp blog blood still runs in my veins 10+ years later.

A set of 3 doodles of Tsumugi from Variable Barricade.
A set of 3 doodles of Hibari from Variable Barricade.
A set of 3 doodles of Beth from Visual Prison.
A set of 2 chibi doodles of Claris from Cupid Parasite.

current mood: okay
current music: Kingdom of the Sun album by Rie aka Suzaku


pixel graveyard horizontal divider

[2023.02.08] Joke’s on me - I’m stuck in the visual prison

icon of Kasuga from Variable Barricade

Dusting off this blog and giving it a brand new pink layout dedicated to my newest blorbo - Beth from Visual Prison. I might adjust the colors, but we’ll see. I archived my old entries from last year with the original Sasasasasaazuka color scheme because it seemed fun.

Anyway - I want to get back into updating my neocities site beyond being in TCG hell and once-a-month outfit dumps. I haven’t really drawn since my last entry in October, but I think I’m starting to find some motivation again. I still have a list of things I want to add to my site, so I’m hoping to chip away at that throughout the year.

For recent inspo, please appreciate the gorgeous artwork of the Visual Prison blu-rays because I am an absolute sucker for limited edition bonuses.

A photograph of two anime blu-ray boxes for Visual Prison
Above: Visual Prison 1 & 2.

A photograph three bonus character cards included as limited extras.
Above: Beth, Jack, and Mist polaroid-style cards from volume 1.
This set also included a full character design booklet with everyone's Visual Prison and causal outfits with turnarounds hehehe.

A photograph two bonus character cards included as limited extras.
Above: Guil and Eve polaroid-style cards from volume 2.

I was on a big EGL outfit streak at the end of last year after rewatching Kamikaze Girls, but I’m back on my casual vaguely j-fashion streetwear bullshit now. The recent outfits I owe to the backlog are ridiculously Beth inspired because my wardrobe is like…halfway there already. I’m just short a beret collection, a Raspberry Mazohyst choker, and one of those starry halo headpieces. (My wallet is in danger.) But yes - I’m here to embrace my vk anime vampire phase.

Some DIY OZ inspired nails. Because I love weeb inspired nail designs and characters named Ange. The black with red glitter blood accent nail is my fav. I couldn’t replicate it as cleanly for the other hand.

A photograph of nail art with mismatched blues and a red/black accent nail

And I finally got my hair done! Next time I’m going to go brighter blonde with the underlayer. ;m;

A cropped photograph of a two-toned hairstyle with a medium brown underlayer.

My brain is tired from the work day and messing with this layout, so that’s it for now.

current mood: exhausted
current music: AI=ZO from Visual Prison Artist Songs CD vol. 1


pixel graveyard horizontal divider
Back to top